Day Mare

Today I daydreamed that my dog died.

I went to a graduation.  It was a really nice graduation.  The school was pretty small so there were only about 15 students graduating.  They all sat in the front in their polyester gowns and as the principal gave her speech, I slipped into that little corner of the brain where daydreams occur.

I tend to have more day-mares.

When I space out, 7 times out of 10 I kind of lapse into some horrible scenario: My father is shot, my mother is arrested, I’m shot, a friend is lost in a tragic accident.  In this case, I had come home to my dog lying unresponsive on the kitchen floor.  I knew I was dreaming.  I knew it wasn’t real, but there was a panic.  I was so afraid.  I was home alone without a car and the vet was right down the street.  But I knew that I wouldn’t be able to run her down to the vet in time to save her life.  In my head I was panicking.  No one could come and take me in enough time to save my dog.  She was going to die and I was helpless.

I love my dog.

 

Leave a Reply

